Before I begin, I would like to send out my condolences to the family of Georgian luger Nodar Kumaritashvili.  I also admire and applaud his teammates for continuing their Olympic journey.  This man died doing what he loved, that to which he had devoted his life.  Ask anyone with the passion, determination, and dedication it takes to compete on an Olympic level, and many will tell you the risks are worth the glory.  His teammates would be letting him down if they never competed.  Whether or not they win, they are honouring their comrade beautifully.

That being said, I decided to proceed with what I had written in my head this morning on the way to work.  A bus and two trains had been no shows, causing me to be late for work, an offense for which there are hefty penalties, when a man passed me and smiled and said, “it’s a beautiful day and a gift from the Lord!”  All morning I had been unsuccessfully trying to change my attitude and find something pleasant in my day.  He was It.  I do not know what sparked It, but I was able to then retrace my steps and find something beautiful in every facet of my troubled Friday.  It brought this thought.

The day after the snow falls we forget the biting cold and the howling wind.  We forget the lightless, gray skies.  The world is clean, reflecting back all the rays of the sun shining in a clear sky.  There is always a day like this soon after the snow falls.  It reminds us that the warmth will return and the wheel will turn again.  Clusters of snow and ice fall from branches and telephone wires, causing cascades of glittering explosions like frozen fireworks on the asphalt.  The air is fresh and it even seems less cold.

No matter what the tragedy or hardship, there is always a day after the fall.

Go now, my friends, find It and enjoy the world refreshed.

