“It’s not just about the sex”, she said, and I knew she understood, or at least could wrap her head around the tip of the iceberg.  “It’s about love and relationships…connections, right?”

Yesterday Hubby and I were interviewed for a new segment centered around polyamory and a yearly conference in Philadelphia, which happens to be happening this weekend. When Robyn Trask, executive producer of Loving More, contacted me a few weeks ago and asked if we’d like to participate I was excited to be a part of something that may bring a little more awareness to the local public.  I’ve been trying to be more active in the local community and provide resources for anyone curious about our lifestyle for some time, and this seemed like a good place to start.

We had planned to tape the interview before our trip, but with my work schedule it’s hard to do almost anything if it’s not a day off.  Instead, a very sleep deprived and wayworn Autumn called the reporter on the way home from the airport to set up a meeting for a few hours later.  It was a small miracle that I had enough time to shower and change my clothes before heading out to a friend’s house where the interview was supposed to take place, as Pop-pop was not having it in his living room.

That was the plan, anyway.  When we arrived at our friend’s house we found her driveway coated in ice.  The car wouldn’t make it up the slope, but I sure tried.  After ten minutes of mildly comedic slipping and sliding as we tried in vain to climb the driveway we gave up and decided to do the interview outside.  Goodbye, nice blouse.  Hello, ugly winter coat!  Hubby decided his sweatshirt was entirely too filthy and worn for local news television and braved the elements in a black polo shirt, much to the exalted relief of his queer side.

The interview itself went well.  The cameraman glided and balanced gracefully as he tried to stop the camera from sliding around on the ice.  The reporter wasn’t trying to smear our lifestyle or make us seem like a freak show.  She asked a few “devil’s advocate” questions and gave us the opportunity to talk about how things work for us.  We talked about communication and how important it is to any relationship, the it poly or otherwise.  We talked about our system being in no way the only way, but our way.  She asked two questions in particular that really made me happy to be participating in the interview.

The first question was, “Why get married?”  Hubby and my answers were very similar, so I’m sure one will get edited out.  The answer was simply because this is the person I’ve chosen to be my partner for the rest of my life.  No matter what or who comes along, and no matter how deep our love or connection is to our other partners, we’re still a team.  At the end of the day, whether there are a hundred other partners or none, we still have each other.  It doesn’t cheapen or discount the love we have for anyone else, but it does speak for the partnership and foundation we have built.

The second question was about our Golden Years, and whether or not we think we’ll still be poly.  I can honestly say I hope so.  I consider myself lucky to have found one man willing to grow old with me and spend his life with me.  To have more than one I would consider myself blessed.  I don’t know what the next few decades will bring, but I hope it’s more of the love and support I’ve found in my partners.

I wish I’d had the days and money available to attend the conference, but it just wasn’t in the works this year.  If you happen to catch us on the new, it airs on Monday night (February, 7) at 11pm.  Just don’t make too much fun of my ugly coat.

Go, now, salt your driveway!

Namaste.

