Sibling!

 

I remember very little about her aside from the fact that she was not the sister I had asked Santa for.  I was an only child, but not in the “only child syndrome  way.  I was quiet, self-entertaining, and very protective of my privacy.  Still, I had always wanted a sister to share my life with.  Then my mom started dating Russ, who just happened to have a daughter my age.   I was ecstatic.  Finally, I would have a sister!  Unfortunately, what I got was Chassey.

In addition  to the fact that she came as part of a package with her father, who was loud, rude, verbally abusive, and constantly trying to intimidate me behind my mother’s back, Chassey had all the grace of a llama with a bag over its head.  She was bratty and had absolutely no respect for me or my things.  At seven this bothered me extremely, because I was a very reserved child who took very good care of things I knew we couldn’t easily replace.

Every time Chassey spent the night she had to sleep in my bed.  I’d lay there all night unable to sleep through her snoring and farting in my bed, that’s right, farting in my bed! When she was awake it was worse.  Because she wouldn’t do her homework on her own I was forced out of my quiet room and my brand new desk to sit with her at the kitchen table while she whined and kicked me under the table.  I quickly learned to hide anything important to me because she dumped a whole cup of water all over my coveted Disney Princess watercolor book.  That was the final straw.  No one messed with my Disney Princesses!

I can’t say I was sad when my mom broke up with Russ.  I also can’t say that I ever wished for a sister again.  Instead I learned to love the fact that I could choose my family and surround myself with sisters, brothers, and all kinds of others.  It is this change of perspective that has directed me to treat my close friends like family, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

