English: Saint Patrick stained glass window fr...

 

My maiden name is Italian, and the red highlights that grace my hair in the summertime could have come from anywhere, but I married an Irish boy who takes his corned beef and cabbage very seriously.  St Patrick’s Day has become an imperative celebration in our household, and there is no shame about it.  I will gladly patronize my local Five Below for all the obnoxious green, blinking, sparkly accessories I can muster, dress like a fool for a night, and have a good time with my family.

With it currently being trendy to be cynical, sarcastic, and non-participatory with every day set aside to be special (ie. Valentine’s Day, St Patrick’s Day) I get hassled a lot by anyone from hipsters thinking they’re ironic to geeks giving me a diatribe about historical accuracy and political correctness like it’s new information.  I’ve learned not to take it personally and asked them all not to be offended when I celebrate anyway just because it’s a tradition.  St Patrick’s Day has as much to do with St Patrick as Cinco de Mayo has with Mexico.  Nothing.  It’s a traditional celebration that brings people together and begs them to pull the stick from their backsides.

For me it’s not about the drinking, as I’ve had plenty of dry St Patrick’s Day celebrations. Honestly, if you need alcohol to have a good time you’re doing something wrong.  For me it’s about letting loose and not worrying about a single thing for a few hours.

Our society has lost a lot of it’s ability to have fun for no good reason, to be silly and unplanned, to look ridiculous as a crowd.  There is nothing wrong with looking like a fool for a day.  As long as my responsibilities are being taken care of I have earned the privilege to put on a green wig and dance like a fool, and I’d like to see anyone try and stop me.

