A friend recently posed a question to her pagan friends on social media about being openly pagan in the workplace.  As unfortunate as it is, this can be a serious decision to make.  While certain things are protected by both company policies and federal laws,  nothing is immune to the office politics game.  Nothing.

With my new job I don’t generally work with the same people for more than a few days at a time.  This means I’m constantly meeting new people and forever telling my story.  I wrote before that we never come out just once as anything.  We do it every time we meet someone new.  Nothing has made this as apparent as the internal checklist I go through in my head every time I meet a new crew.  What has this person told me of his life?  How open-minded does she seem?  What has our rapport been so far?  If none of these things throws any red flags there’s a deep intuition check.  Does this feel right?

As a general rule I am fairly open about who I am.  I’ve found that it mitigates the amount of gossip that finds its way back to me.  I won’t lie when people ask questions about my life, but I do try to gauge my audience before I speak, and I very rarely offer unsolicited information unless it’s appropriate to the conversation, which is even more rare.  There are some things I will never mention unless a coworker divulges it first or I consider her a close friend.

The simple fact here is that it’s none of anyone’s business.  Would I like to be able to mention what I did over the weekend or casually talk about my family?  Of course I would, and while it’s a shame that I have to gauge my listener first to do so, that fact remains.  Honestly, I wish more acquaintances did this before blessing me with information about their lives that I’d rather not have.

 

Blessings!

Go now, be you!

adult-gamer-water-cooler

