A year and a day ago I threw away my comfort zone and left the security of a position I knew I could keep for a five-week challenge to see if I was fit to be a flight attendant.  I was both exhilarated and terrified, and believe me when I tell you most of the messages I received in the week preceding my departure from my department on the ground were not encouraging.  A lot of people  doubted I would make it, and I almost didn’t go, but it had been something I’d been pushing toward for over 6 years.  I needed to know.

For over a month I navigated the cutthroat environment with my head down and my eyes forward, stepping out and finding non-industry people near our hotel when I needed to breathe.  I studied, I started working out, and I learned through immersion to be completely alone.  Sure, I had a few friends, but they were taking their own journeys respectively.

On graduation day, it was still just me.  Sure, Hubby was waiting for me when i got home with a big hug and a celebratory dinner, but at the moment I was given my first set of wings the only person there with me was the one responsible for getting me through it.  Me.  Quite egregiously, I had assumed that day that the hardest part of my journey was over, but it was just the first step.

For the last year I have learned a lot about life and about myself.  I have learned to be independent and how to speak up for my needs.  There is not a single relationship in my life that has not been touched and reshaped by the experience, but the ones that have survived the transformation have been fortified by a newfound purpose and confidence that I have thing to offer and a right to not settle somewhere I’m unhappy.  I have learned to adapt and be transient.  I have learned to be fluid but firm.  I have learned to be present even when I am flying across the country.

A year ago I was reminded that my life is not stagnant or restricted.  It is not over, and while I have lost certain opportunities I have gained others.  I still have life and love to give., and it’s worth more than I ever could have imagined.

Aloha.

Go now, be invaluable!

